Grateful thanks to David Wilson and the Kangaroo Island Pioneer Association for assistance with information on this ship
AFRICAINE IN WHICH FIRST PRINTING PRESS CAME By Ida M. Forsyth THE captain and part-owner of the Africaine (316 tons) was Capt. John Finlay Duff, who made several journeys to and from England and also to Tasmania. Later the Africaine was sold and traded with New Zealand. Capt. Duff was made harbormaster at Glenelg and was responsible for rescuing the migrant ship Electric, which had gone ashore on the Marino rocks in 1865. The Africaine's first trip was in 1836, when Mr. and Mrs. Robert Thomas, Miss Mary Kyffin Thomas' great-great grandparents, came out with their family. Mrs. Mary Thomas' "Diary and Letters" give a most descriptive account of the voyage out, and the early experiences of the settlers. In her diary it appears that she started off from England with her family ill with scarlet-fever in these days of isolation and health regulations an unthinkable thing. Quoting from her diary:-"The ship rolled about so that nothing would stay in its place, and during the night we were in total darkness, and no light was allowed after 9 o'clock, excepting in the state cabin. All we had was a miserable lamp, the very shadow of a light, hung up in the centre between the cabins." First Printing Press She records than on August 14 a large fish was caught, an albacore, weighing 80 lb., and resembling veal in taste. She speaks of the daily issue of water of a quality that in England one would not give to a dog. It was as black as ink, with thick sediment at the bottom, and smelt worse than a stagnant ditch. "Those who go to sea, however, must make up their minds not to be over nice or over-particular about anything." Food on board was very poor, and there was difficulty about getting it cooked. They had six months' stores with them, but these had to be conserved for use when they landed. Mr. Thomas brought the first printing press to Adelaide. He and Mr. Stevenson. Governor Hindmarsh's secretary. were in partnership, with Mr. Stevenson as editor. Mr. Thomas set up and printed the Proclamation of the Colony. The printing office was in a rush hut at Glenelg until the site for the city was fixed. The first copy of the "Register"--at first called "South Australian Gazette and Colonial Register," was published in London, June 26, 1836, the second copy in Adelaide, June 3. 1837. The Passengers Those travelling in the' Africaine included:-Capt. John Duff, Robert Gouger and wife, John Brown and wife, Dr. E. G. Everard and wife, W. and C. G. Everard, John Hallett and wife, Robert Thomas and wife and two children, Francis Skipper, William K Thomas, Helen Mantegani, Mr. Louis ,and wife, Mr. Colton and wife, J. Snoswell and wife, Matthew Smith. May Smith, Robert Fisher, Andrew Jacob, John Baggs, Daniel Cox, Mr. Warren, Benjamin Smith; Alfred Young, Mr. Slater, James Windebanks, Mr. Drason, Mr. Masters, Mr. Ward. W. Williams, A. Glidden, H. Hill, B. Wickam. D. K. Wickam, S. East, wife. two sons and daughter, Mr. Calton. wife. three sons, and one daughter, Mr. Bushell, son, and daughter, C. Phillis, G. Panells., wife and two sons, Mr. Pollard and wife, John Cronk, Mary Vincent, J. M. Skipper, Eliza Clark, Lillywhite, Ralp E. Daveys, Joseph A. Hill, Bessy Symonds. Among the descendants in South Australia of the arrivals in the Africaine are:-The Kyffin Thomas family, Mrs. T. V. Beevor, Miss M. D. Beevor, Miss Betty Dumas, Dr. J. L. Everard, Miss Everard, Mrs. Nash, Mr. S. H. Skipper, Mrs. P. Wien Smith, Mrs. A. S. Waterhouse, Mrs. F. A. Wood, Mrs. K. Mitchell, Mrs. J. H. Carter, Mrs A. Daw, Mrs. W. F. Taylor, Misses Bufllock, Mr. R. G. Bullock, Mrs. H. M. Charter, Mrs. J. N. Bagot, Mrs. Helen N. Fisher, Mrs. Leslie Harvey, Mrs. E. V. Riceman, Frank G. Sawtell, Henry H. Smith, Miss Jane Smith. Mr. Stuart D. Duff, of Brighton, is probably South Australia's closest link with the Africaine, as he is a son of Capt. Duff
News Thursday 06 August 1936 page 14
BAGG, John Diment/Demit Died 29 March 1891 in Bridgport, Dorsetshire, England
John was the son of John BAGG and Mary nee DIMENT. Born 24 April 1816 in Netherby, Dorset, England. Arrived on the Africaine age 18 years from Dorset England. His many trades included Carrier, Teamster, Brickmaker, and Farmer residing in Hindmarsh, Springbank Burra and Mount Bryan. John married twice - firstly to Diana Rebecca SEYMOUR nee SCOTT on 17 July 1854 in Burra and was believed to have had 9 children. "On Wednesday 25 April 1866, Mr JohnBagg, of Springbank, sustained an information against his wife for bigmy. The case excited much interest in this neighbourhood, as Mr. Bagg is an old settler at the Burra. In his evidence he deposed that he first became acquainted with his wife at Kangaroo Island 27 years since. After living together as man and wife, although unmarried, five years, she left him and married a man named William Seymour. She lived with Seymour a few weeks, and afterwards ran away from him, and went to live again with Bagg. Fifteen years after their first intimacy, and being assured by her that Seymour was dead, Bagg married her at the Burra. The parties appear to have lived far from amicably together, and often were temporarily separated. Three months since they again parted, and then Bagg laid the present information. William Seymour, the first husband, was produced in Court; also Mrs. Janet Bristow, of Kangaroo Island, a witness to the marriage with Seymour. The Magistrate committed Mrs. Bagg for trial on the charge of bigamy, and bound over the witnesses."
She died 14 September 1867 in Kooringa, SA and he subsequently married Mary Ann BRODERICK nee McINERNEY 05 December 1867 in Adelaide and had possibly a further seven children. "JohnBagg was charged by Mary Bagg with neglecting to contribute to her support. Mr. Packard for Mrs. Bagg. Mary Bagg deposed that she was now living in Kooringa and was not being supported by her husband who had only given her £3 sum September 21st. She left home because of cruelty and thereto that he would serve her like Maria Martin. She was afraid of her life and so left him. She had often been cruelly beaten before, but she had done her best to please him. He had also told his son that he would get rid of her as soon as he could. After she had been away from home three weeks she went with a friend to see if she could get any settlement but could not. Thought be intended to kill her. In reply to Mr. Bagg she said she had always done her best for him. The daughter of the parties, aged eight years was examined and gave some evidence in corroboration. D. S. Packard deposed, on 22 September he was consulted by Mrs. Bagg and subsequently wrote several letters trying to arrange matters and JohnBagg the son of defendant then saw him as to coming to term, and gave instruction to prepare deed, of separation which was done and handed to him to get his father's signature and he promised to bring it back signed but returned afterward saying that his father declined unless addition were made which was done but he then again refused to sign it and it had not been executed. The term is the deed were 30s. a week were only consented to rather than go into court and the first claim was £200 ayear. JohnBagg deposed that his home was open as it always had been to his wife and they had always lived together comfortably till she took it into her head to leave him. Elizabeth Bagg daughter-in-law of John Bagg deposed Mrs, Bagg having left her husband while he was ill in bed. Mr. Packard asked that the provisions of the deed should be carried out. Order for 20s. a week and costs £3 2s. - Burra Record, Friday 28 November 1879 page 3" The couple were divorced in 1881. Mary Ann died 18 August 1915 at Adelaide but was still listed as his widow.
John returned to England in 1882 where he died 29 March 1891 at Bridgport, Dorsetshire, England Death of an Old Colonist.—By the English mail just to hand news has been received of the death of Mr. John D. Bagg, which took place at Bridport, Dorsetshire, on March 29 last. Mr. Bagg arrived in the colony in 1836 by the Africaine. Like many others he went to the Victorian diggings, and was one of the fortunate few. He afterwards returned to the colony and started farming at Springbank, near Kooringa, where he was also very successful. In 1882 he left for the old country, where he has resided since. - Adelaide Observer Saturday 16 May 1891 page 29
BARNES, Henry Died 31 January 1891 at Destitute Asylum, Adelaide
Buried West Terrace Cemetery - location unknwon
Mr. HenryBarnes, who recently died in the Destitute, Asylum was one of the oldest colonists, having come out in the Africaine in 1836. Latterly he resided at Wirrabara, where he carried on the business of a green grocer in a small way, but was unable to attend properly to this owing to his sufferings for some years from a cancer in his face. At length this became almost unbearable, and being without means for procuring proper attendance he sought refuge in the Destitute Asyium, where he died. Had he been a rich man the news papers would have had an obituary notice of 'Another old Colonist gone to join the great majority ' — but as he was a poor — albeit honest — man, why Mrs. Grundy quietly' ignored him.
The Laura Standard Friday 06 March 1891 page 3
BROWN, John and wife
BROWN, John Died 18 August 1879 in Adelaide, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia B333
We regret to have to announce the death of the well-known old colonist Mr. John Brown. About three weeks before his death he was so unfortunate as to clip down in King William-street and break his collar bone, and although at first he his apparently progressing towards recovery, still the shock sustained by him was so great that it is not surprising that the accident should have resulted fatally to a gentleman of such advanced years, his age at the time of his death, which took place on Saturday, August 17, being 78. Mr. Brown's connection with the colony dates from its foundation. Having been appointed Immigration Agent in England, he sailed thence in the ship Africaine, and landed at Kangaroo Island on November 6, 1838. In the general disagreements which took place during the following year between Governor Hindmarsh and several of the officials of the State, Mr. Brown did not escape the vice regal censure, and owing to a difference of opinion between His Excellency and himself with regard to the interment of a destitute immigrant, he was on September 11, 1837, suspended from office. To this he was reinstated by Governor Gawler on October 21 of the following year ; but he was again suspended on August 10, 1839, and it does not appear that he ever afterwards acted in the capacity of Immigration Agent. He, however, took an active part in public affairs for many years, and especially in the movement against State aid to religious denominations, which resulted in the abolition of that form of grant. He acted first of all in the capacity of member of the Provisional Committee of the Society to secure religious freedom, and afterwards as Hon Secretary to the League formed in opposition to State aid to religion. In 1840 Mr. Brown sat on the directory of the South Australian Insurance Company; in 1841 he became connected with the Statistical Society, who were entrusted with the duty of obtaining a full and authentic account of the financial condition of the colony; and he also became a member of the first City Council, in which body he remained until the end of 1843. In addition to fulfilling these various duties Mr. Brown found time to devote to literary matters, the South Australian newspaper numbering him among its constant contributors, and he was subsequently for some years Editor of the Adelaide Times. Immediately on the establishment of the Adelaide Life Assurance and Guarantee Company Mr. Brown was appointed its Manager, and it was only in January of the present year that his failing health necessitated his retirement, on which occasion the Directors agreed to allow him a pension during bis life time in consideration of his long and valuable services. Mr. Brown was twice married, but has left no family. He will be long remembered as a man of high mental culture, of the strictest integrity, and inflexibly attached to the principles of civil and religious liberty. Kindly in disposition and genial in temperament, his death will be most deeply felt by colonists who have been associated with him in the earlier days of South Australia. The funeral took place on Monday afternoon, August 18. His remains were removed from the residence of Mrs. Mann, in Gilbert-street, Adelaide, to the Hindmarsh Cemetery and the cortege consisted of two mourning-coaches and about twenty private vehicles following the hearse. Amongst the old colonists and friends who attended were the Hon. C. Mann, Q.C., M.P., and Mr. John Mann (Secretary to the Commissioner of Public Works), relatives; the Rev. J. Allen and Mr. J. J. Stuckey, connections ; Sir George Kingston (Speaker of the House of Assembly), Sir John Morphett, Messrs. W. T. Sheppard (Under Treasurer), H. Fraser, M.P , C. S. Hare, M.P., E. S. Davys (Secretary Local Board of Main Roads), 0. A. Wilson (Registrar of Probates), R. Cooper, Samuel Berry, H. Giles, J.P, V. Laurence. C. Smedley, J.P.. G. Young, John Lindsay, H. Noltenius. J.P. Stow, J.P., W. B. Gilbert, — Kirby, G. Aldridge, G. F. Gardiner, H. Holthouse, Dr. Kidner, and others. The /service was impressively read by the Rev. F. W. Cox, and the funeral arrangements were conducted by Mr. P. Gay.
South Australian Register Saturday 06 September 1879 page 4
BUSHELL, Henry, Charlotte PHILLIS, John Phillis, Caroline Elizabeth
BUSHELL, Henry Died 02 June 1875 at Mount Pleasant, SA
A correspondent at Mount Pleasant furnishes us with the following very interesting particulars :— ' In a short: time we shall have few old pioneer colonists left. One by one they are pasting away. An old and esteemed neighbor, Mr. HenryBushell, sen,, departed this life on the 3rd inst. He was 73 years of age, had been over 39 years in the colony, and 30 years in this district. Mr. Bushell arrived on the 5th of November, 1336, in the barque Africaine, commanded by Captain Duff, being just one month before the colony was proclaimed. He landed with his shipmates on Kangaroo Island, and remained on the island three years. He then went to the old Port on the main land, as it was then called. Mr. Bushell was a boat builder, and was engaged by the South Australian Company to build boats for the whale fishery carried on at Encounter Bay. The boats were built on Kangaroo Island, and were the first made in the colony. Afterwards he constructed a boat for the Government, which was the first that ever entered the Murray Mouth from the sea. By the time it was commanded by Captain Pullen (now Admiral Pullen). Mr. John Hallett, Dr. Everard, and Mr. Thomas, sen., were among Mr, Bushell's shipmates. Mr. Bushell was much respected by all in the district, and especially by those who had the pleasure of his intimate acquaintance.
South Australian Chronicle Saturday 12 June 1875 page 10
BUSHELL Charlotte nee PHILLIS Died 05 June 1863 at Mount Pleasant, SA Charlotte died at the residence of her daughter, Spring Vale, South Rhine. Aged 67 years. Henry and her lived at Kent Cottage, Mount Pleasant. Buried St. John's Anglican Cemetery, Mount Pleasant - no headstone
A considerable amount of gloom has been spread over an extensive circle in this neighbourhood by the decease of an old and respected resident—Mrs. Bushell—the wife of one of the first persons who settled in this district some three or four and twenty years ago. She had stood in the relation of foster-mother to two successive generations, and died on Friday last when on a visit at her daughter's house, where she had gone, with entire self-forgetfulness, for the purpose of nursing a sick grandchild. Her relations and friends to the number of nearly 8O assembled on occasion of the funeral, which took place yesterday at St. John's Church, in the cemetery connected with which her remains found their last resting-place. This burial-ground has been opened for the purpose of removing the disadvantages of distance and position which were found to render the Government cemetery inconvenient; and it was made use of on tills occasion for the first time.
Saturday 13 June 1863 page 1
BUSHELL, John Phillis Died 08 March 1899 at New Parkside, SA
Buried West Terrace Cemetery Road 1 North Path 2 Site W 31
Mr. John Phillis Bushell, who died a few days ago at his residence, Kent House, Victoria-terrace, New Parkside, at the age of 71 years, was a colonist of 63 years' standing, having arrived in the Africaine on November 5. 1836. The deceased gentleman was born at Deal, one of the principal fishing ports in Kent, and came out with his parents at the age of 8 years. His father (Mr. Henry Bushell) was by trade a boat builder, and he entered the service of the S.A. Whaling Company in that capacity, taking up his residence at first on Kangaroo Island, and subsequently, when Port Adelaide was opened, he removed to a house built on piles over the spot where the Birkenhead Hotel now stands. Thence the domicile of the family was transferred to Woodville, and later on to Mount Pleasant, where the son, John Bushell, took to the cultivation of the land, in which his energy and patience met with their reward. He soon became an expert in farming pursuits, as he had been at his father's trade. He also showed a great aptitude for veterinary work, and was often able to extend valuable aid to his neighbors whose stock were indisposed. He was a Freemason, and was also a member of the Mount Pleasant lodges of the Oddfellows, M.U., and Ancient Order of Foresters, and was for many years secretary of the former. Upon relinquishing farming he became the licensee of the Two Wells Hotel, and later on of the Nelson's Victory Hotel, at Edwardstown, after which he retired from business and took up his residence with his family at New Parkside. While at Mount Pleasant the deceased gentleman entered the matrimonial state, chosing as his partner in life the daughter of his father's esteemed friend, Mr. James Phillis, of Updown Park, Mount Pleasant, and his wife survives him. He also leaves five eons, five daughters, and eight grandchildren. One of the sons is Senior-Constable Bushell, who is stationed at Eudunda. and who, as the result of his skill as a bushman and tracker, rendered such conspicuous service in the recent murder investigation at Mount Mary.
Chronicle Saturday 25 March 1899 page 19
BUSHELL, Caroline Elizabeth Died 05 December 1904 at Spring Vale near Mount Torrens, SA
Buried St. John's Anglican Cemetery, Mount Pleasant Last week one of the oldest residents in the State, Mrs. Caroline Elizabeth Phillis, died at Mount Pleasant at the age of 70 years. The deceased lady had been ailing for some time. Mrs. Phillis came out in the ship Africaine in 1836 with her parents. Mr. Bushell, her father, was a boatbuilder. In 1844 they settled at Mount Pleasant among the pioneers of the district. At the early age of 16 the deceased lady was married to Mr. G. Phillis. who came out in 1839, since when they had resided at Mount Pleasant. Mrs. Phillis was a well-known identity of the district, and had a large circle of friends. She has left the fallowing children:—Messrs. G. Phillis (Baroota), J. Phillis (Walker's Flat), T. Phillis (Spring Vale). Mrs. W. Roy (River Murray), Mrs. W. Smith (Mount Pleasant), and two Misses Phillis (Spring Vale). There are also several grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
Adelaide Observer Saturday 17 December 1904 page 44
CALNAN, Jeremiah, Mary Ann BOW, John, Charles, Michael, Mary Ann
CALNAN, Jeremiah Died 1836 at Encounter Bay, SA
Born in 1797 in County Cork, Ireland. Arrived Nepean Bay on 'The Africaine' 2.11.1836. Commemorated Kingscote Pioneer Cemetery. Jeremiah was a Cooper employed by the SA Company and brought out to KI on the Africaine in order to supply barrels for the whale oil. He had been a ‘victualler’ of ships in both Ireland and England, but I suspect he went bust. We could make any number of guesses as to the reasons for a business failing. We know that he was alive in January 1837 and that he didn’t head to Adelaide to hand in his resignation. In fact, he travelled to Encounter Bay with some of the SA Company Managers to check whaling operations there, had an attack of what the Coroner determined to be the DT’s and died.
In 1836 Mr J. Calnan and family landed on the Island from the ship Africaine, under engagement as manager to the South Australian Company, but his first impressions of the place were so discouraging and disheartening that he made up his mind to resign the position, and at the earliest opportunity started for Adelaide to hand in his resignation, leaving his family on the Island. On the way be was taken seriously ill and shortly after reaching Encounter Bay he died. The family remained on the Island and started sheep - farming, living comfortably until the land was surveyed. The conditions becoming unfavorable after this took place the majority of the few settlers threw up their holdings and returned to the mainland and sealing and trapping became the chief occupation of the remaining few.
The Kangaroo Island Courier Saturday 16 April 1910 page 4
CALNAN, Mary Ann nee BOW Died 12 April 1883 near Yorketown, SA
His wife was left on Kangaroo Island with 4 children ranging in age from 13 to 3. In short order she took a job as ‘housekeeper’ for Charles Thompson, ‘innkeeper’ at Kingscote Thompson’s name features regularly in reports from the Police Commissioner, Tolmer. Remarried to Charles THOMPSON after the death of her husband He and his stepsons (the Calnan’s) were bootleggers amongst other things, and Thompson was arrested a couple of times. The boys appear to have evaded prosecution. In 1851 Charles & Michael headed to the Vic goldfields, found a reasonable amount of gold, get it back to SA, build the 3 cottages and buy other land on KI and around the mainland. By the 1880s they owned Lockwood Farm near Brownlow and Michael had enough to relocate to a property at Edithburgh.
THOMPSON.—On the 18th April, at her son's residence, Yorke's Peninsula, after a lingering illness, Mrs. C. Thompson, in her 84th year, dearly beloved mother of Mr. C. Calnan, of Kangaroo Island, and Mr. M. Calnan, of Yorke's Peninsula. A colonist of 47 years.
The South Australian Advertiser Thursday 03 May 1883 page 4
CALNAN, John Died 1856 in Victor Habor, SA
Born 1823 in Bermondsey, St. John Horsleydown, London, England and died 1853 in at sea, Backstairs Passage, SA. Buried Kingscote Pioneer Cemetery He had married Eliza Jane YOUNG 06 Jan 1852 in Adelaide, SA. She was born 1832 and died 16 Dec 1902 in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, SA.
CALNAN, Charles Died 02 July 1898 at Birkenhead, SA Buried West Terrace Cemetery Plan 3 Path 15 Site 125
On June 2 Mr. Charles Calnan, of Kangaroo Island, died at the age of 72 years. The deceased gentleman, when 10 years of age, arrived in the ship Africaine, in 1836, with his parents, who settled down in the employment of the South Australian Company on Kangaroo Island. When 22 years of age he started sheepfarming with his brother, Michael Calnan, who is now farming on the island. The funeral took place at the West-terrace Cemetery on Monday last, the service being conducted by the Rev. Frederick Webb, of Trinity Church. At the grave there were gathered the widow and Messrs. Michael and Frederick Calnan (sons), Mrs. J. R. Knuckey and Mrs. G.Mitchell (daughters), Mr. and Mrs. J. S. Taylor, Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Taylor, Mr. K. McLeod, Miss McLeod, Mr. and Mrs. E. Squire, Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Hocking, Mr. H. O. Thomson, Mr. H. Reeves, Mr. W. Anderson, and others.
Chronicle Saturday 09 July 1898 page 16
CALNAN, Michael Died 08 July 1910 at Edithburgh, SA
Houses Faith, Hope and Charity
Mr. Michael Calnan, who died at his residence, Blanche-street, Edithburgh, on Friday last, at the age of 82 years, was born in London on December 28th, 1827. Leaving England with, his parents in the Africaine, he landed on Kangaroo Island in 1836, after a passage of four and a half months, and his mother sat up all night with an umbrella over her head, and her children nestling to her. He lived on the island till 1873, and built the three earliest stone houses at Queenscliffe. They still stand, and are now known as Faith, Hope, and Charity. He was mostly engaged in farming, though for a few years he was whaling and seal-catching. At the time of the Bendigo rush he was smitten with the gold fever and went across to Victoria. He had many interesting experiences to tell, and was a good raconteur. He would tell how he used to go whaling with Mr. Hart, who later on became Treasurer of the State about the smuggling of the early days; and how, in returning from the diggings, they were afraid of being jobbed of their gold by bushrangers, and for safety hollowed out the axle bed of their dray, placed the gold therein, replaced the axle, and although stuck up and searched twice they reached home safe and sound with their gold intact. These are but a sample of many of his thrilling experiences. Leaving the island in 1873, he went over to Yorke Peninsula, where he had resided ever since. Mrs. Calnan It in good health and carries her 81 years well. She was the first white child born in Circular Head, Tasmania, where her father was manager of the Circular Head Company. Later on her father (Mr. Reeves) came to this State to represent the South Australian Company, and it was after him that Reeves' Plains were named. Mr. Calnan left a son (Mr. Charles Calnan, of Edithburgh), a daughter in Western Australia, twelve, grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren.
Chronicle Saturday 16 July 1910 page 44
CALNAN, Mary Ann Died 22 April 1890 at Ringarooma, Tas.
Born 1834 in Bermondsey, St. John Horsleydown, London, Surrey, Eng. and died 22 Apr 1890 in Ringarooma, Tasmania. She married Gilbert CLARK 07 Oct 1865 in Adelaide, SA. He was born in Glascow, Scotland and died 25 May 1921 in Ringarooma, Tasmania.
CALTON, Charles, Mary Ann, 3 sons and 1 daughter
CLARKE, Margaret Elizabeth
COLTMAN James, Marion GIBBS
COLTMAN, James JamesColtman (formerly well-known as keeper of a large hotel, and in 1837 storekeeper to the Commissioners at the Bay was sent to gaol for safe custody, being a dangerous lunatic. - Observer Saturday 13 December 1845 page 3 Died at Adelaide, on the 23rd November 1849, late of Franklin-street, aged 42 years. Buried West Terrace Cemetery - location unknown
COLTMAN, Marian Died 05 July 1863 at Hindmarsh, SA Remarried in 1859 On the 19th January, by licence, at Salisbury, by the Rev. G. D. Mudie, Pastor of the Congregational Church, Mr. Thomas Saunders, of Hindmarsh, to Mrs. Marion Coltman, of Adelaide, relict of the late Mr. James Coltman. Died aged 50 years
COX, Daniel Died 28 December 1888 at Koolunga, SA
DEATH OF A PIONEER.—Mr. Daniel COX died at Koolunga on December 28, at the age of 71 years, after only a few days' illness. Mr. Cox came to the colony in the first emigrant ship, the Africaine, commanded by Captain J. F. Duff, and landed on Kangaroo Island on November 2, 1833. At an early date ,he returned again to the old country, when after a short stay he once more came to the colony. He was for some time in the employ of the late Captain J. Hallett, and worked under him in the old Worthing Mine. About the year 1847 he started farming in Morphett Vale and remained there until 1876, when he removed with his family to Koolunga, where he followed farming up to the time of his death. The deceased could give interesting accounts of the " early days." At one time he was minding sheep on the plains north of Adelaide when he and his mate were attacked by the blacks. He defended himself by keeping the sheep between him and the blacks, but his mate was killed by them, for which one of the blacks was hanged. This was the first man hanged in Adelaide. One of his earliest business transactions in the colony was the purchase for £5 of the town acre upon which stands what is known as Brown and Thompson's old timber-yards, afterwards selling it for £10, and, to use his own words, he thought "he was fast becoming a millionaire." Mr. Cox was a thrifty colonist, andwas much against flying to the Government for every little requirement, as also against the surrendering of land to the Government and buying it back at a much reduced price. Although living amongst farmers who surrendered their land it is noteworthy of him that by dint of hard work and careful management he managed to clear his selection of 550 acres at £3 5s. per acre in less than twelve years, and his land was private purchase. He has left a widow, five sons, and four daughters, some of whom are married and in comfortable positions.
Evening Journal Friday 04 January 1889 page 2
CRONK, James Died 05 July 1904 at Modbury, SA
CRONK, James A very interesting old person passed out at Modbury (S.A.) recently in James Cronk.Cronk was born as far back as 1811, and had successfully manoeuvred a 93rd birthday. He was a sailor in his younger days, and travelled a lot before lie left his ship to reside in Tasmania. He lived in that then rough-edged State, from 1829 to 1835, and then went back to the old country. He was, however, soon pounced upon by an emigration agent, and persuaded to try his luck in S.A., and arrived in that colony in November, 1830, and was present on proclamation day a month or so after. He made a living- by selling water after arrival, and made a better living at selling that commodity than do many modern people who sell somewhat stronger liquids. There was nothing cronk about the old gentleman except his name.
Critic Wednesday 13 July 1904 page 7
DAVEYS, Ralp E
DEACON, William Archer, Sarah Ann FIRMIN, Edwin, Firmin, dau (Ann?)
DEACON, William Archer Died 17 December 1867 at Gawler Place, Adelaide
William Archer DEACON was born 1789 in Market Hardborough, Leicester, England He married Sarah Ann FIRMIN 1813 in England, daughter of Richard FIRMIN. Contracted by the South Australian Company to establish a Temperance Hotel and Coffee House. Resigned 1838. In about 1840 opened a theatre 'The Victoria' 100 yards from his residence in North Terrace. In September 1866 purchased ST. LEONARDS ON THE SEA, Village of---Lots 71 to 74 of Section 184, Hundred of Noarlunga -EDWIN DEACON,FIRMIN DEACON and WILLIAM ARCHER DEACON, Adelaide Died 17 Dec 1867 in Gawler Place, Adelaide, SA. Aged 80 years. Buried in the West Terrace Cemetery - location unknown.
DEACON, Sarah Ann nee FIRMIN Born 1791 in London, England Returned to England as listed in death notice of son in 1867 'Of Bromley House, Middlesex, England'
DEACON, Edwin Born c 1825 in Essex, England On TUESDAY. October 15 1867, at 12 o'clock. ON THE PREMISES, GOODWOOD-ROAD. ALL THE GROWING CROPS. FARM IMPLEMENTS. HORSES, COWS, PIGS, POULTRY. PARR & LUXMOORE are instructed by Mr. EdwinDeacon to sell by auction, on the Farm, Goodwood-road, on Tuesday. October 15, at 12 o'clock- All the STANDING CROPS Cows, Horses, Mowing-Machine Ploughs, Harrows, Carts, Harness Pigs, Poultry. &c, &c, &c Without reserve. Died 26 October 1867 at home Goodwood Road, Goodwood, SA Aged 45 years Buried West Terrace Cemetery - location unknown
DEACON, Firmin Died 11 May 1897 in Longawarry South, Vic.
State Library of South Australia
Born 17 March 1827 in Ipswich, Suffolk, England Insolvent in 1878 as a Picture Frame Maker, of Emerald Hill, Vic. FirminDeacon, gardener, of the East Poowong road, eight miles from Droiun, and he had 115 acres of land, and had been in the district 18 years. He had 10 acres of garden, principally apples, and was clearing another 10 acres. Fruit growing paid him very well. He had sent away 600 cases of fruit this season, and had 100 trees to the acre, and had taken as much as 12 cases from one tree. The poor country could not be beaten for fruit growing: An orchard was worth £20 per acre. His apples frequently got bruised in carting. - Warragul Gardian Friday 13 July 1896 page 3 Died 11th May 1897 at his son's residence Longawarry, South, Vic. late of Dundas Place, Albert Park and 12 Wright's Lane, City. Aged 70 years Buried Melbourne General Cemetery
DUFF John Finlay, Ann Eliza TURNER
DUFF, John Finlay Died 18 May 1868 at New Glenelg, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia B47774
Death of Captain Duff.-Another old colonist has closed his career— Captain Duff, recently Harbour-Master at Glenelg. The event, which was preceded by several months of illness took place at 2 o'clock on the morning of Monday, May 18. The name of Captain John Finlay Duff is associated with some of the earliest and most memorable incidents in South Australian history. His ship, the Africaine. is noticed in the first number of the South Australian Register, published in London on the 18th June, 1836, as about to sail for this colony, the probable number of passengers being 60. The Afiicaine's name and that of her commander appeared in the second number of the South Australian Register, published in Adeaide on June 3, 1837, namely, in a list of arrivals prior to June 1 in that year. Captain Duff's name next appears in the firm of Hallett and Duff among the subscribers to a fund for the erection of the original Trinity Church. In August, 1837, the Africaine sailed for Launceston, Van Diemen's Land, in command of Captain Duff. In subsequent years Captain Duff was extensively known as a merchant and shipowner. The barque Guiana brought from Singapore the first cargo landed at the present port and the schooner Waterwitch delivered the first general cargo landed at the Maclaren Wharf. The Waterwitch— owned by Captain Duff, and commanded by D. Talbert - traded between Mauritius, Bourbon, and Port Adelaide as also between our port and those of Western Australia, until she was unfortunately lost on her return voyage from Mauritius. On his retirement from active life, in 1860, Captain Duff accepted the appointment of Harbour-Master at Glenelg, which he held for several years. Those only who remember him in the most active period of his mercantile career will be able to do justice to the public spirit which animated him. He has done the colony good service in his day and generation. On Wednesday afternoon. May 20, his remains were conveyed to West-Terrace Cemetery. The hearse, mourning coach, and several other vehicles left his late residence, New Glenelg, shortly after 2 o'clock. The Rev. Thos. Field, M.A., Incumbent of St. Peter's, Glenelg, read the Church of England burial service, and around the grave we noticed the Rev. E. K. Miller, Hon. C G. Everard, Messrs. J. Brown, W. Everard, M.P., A. Hallett, E. W. Andrews (Mayor of Glenelg), H. W. Parker, Schroeder, J. Hardman, J. D. Woods, W. H. Charnock, J. P. Stow, Samson, S. Berry, Hitchcox, J. W. Dawes, A. G. Burt, and others, many of whom had known the deceased intimately or been in some way or another associated with him when in active life at an early period of colonial history.
South Australian Register Saturday 23 May 1868 page 6
DUFF, Ann Eliza
EAST Samuel, Mary Ann LEE, Samuel, Mary Ann, Sarah, Jane, Elizabeth, William
EAST, Samuel Died 22 June 1903 at Sandergrove, SA Mr. Samuel East, who died suddenly on Monday at the residence of his nephew, Mr. F. Mitchell, of Sandergrove, came to the state in the ship Africaine in 1836. He has resided in this state almost continuously since. His age was 87 years.
Adelaide Observer 27 June 1903 page 21
EAST, Mary Ann
May have died 08 July 1891 aged 77 years at Hampton Burra
EAST, Mary Ann
EVERARD Charles George, Catherine RUSSELL, William Edward, Charles John, Eliza Anne, James Edward
EVERARD, Charles George Died 30 March 1876 at Ashford, SA
Death of Dr. Everard.— We have to announce the death of Dr. C. G. Everard, which took place at Ashford, the residence of his son, the Hon. W. Everard. M.L.C. on Thursday morning, March 30. The deceased, who was in his 82nd year, was a pioneer colonist, and shared the heat and burden of the toil connected with the settlement of the province, in the general advancement of which he always took a deep interest. He was a man of strong constitution, and till late years had enjoyed excellent health, but advancing age led to a gradual breaking up of his system. He had been ill for the last year and ten months, so his departure was not unexpected. He passed away without pain, retaining his faculties to the last moment. Dr. Everard was born in Gloucester on August 29, 1794, and was educated for the medical profession, which he afterwards followed with considerable success in London. He was one of the South Australian Association, which had for its object the formation of a colony of the Wakefield system, and upon the passing of the Act he was one of the earliest purchasers in the projected settlement. He came to South Australia in the Africaine, commanded by Captain Duff, which vessel brought the first independent settlers, and he had thus the honour of being one of the pioneers of the country. The Africaine arrived at Nepean Bay, Kangaroo Island, on the 3rd November, 1836, afterwards coming up the Gulf to Holdfast Bay, off Glenelg, where she landed her passengers. The Colonial Surgeon, Mr. T. Y. Cotter, not being ready to leave England until the departure of the Coromandel Mr. Everard offered his gratuitous services as surgeon until his arrival, which were accepted and afterwards suitably acknowledged by the Colonization Commissioners. On arrival of the Buffalo with Captain Hindmarsb, the first Governor of the Province, Mr. Everard was one of those who, on December 28, 1836, assembled to hear the reading of the proclamation constituting South Australia a British colony. He was long on the roll of Justices of the Peace, and was a member of the Central Road Board for many years. In February, 1857, at the introduction of, the new Constitution, he was elected a member of the Legislative Council, and he was the only one of the original number who served 12 years in that body without re-election. Mr. Everard resided at Ashford, on the Bay-road, for the last 38 years, having never visited England or gone beyond the province for any length of time since his arrival. The deceased gentleman has left two sons — the Hon. W. Everard, Minister of Education, and Mr. C. J. Everard, of Marshfield, Bay-road— and one daughter — Mrs. R. E. Lucy— besides several grandsons and granddaughters. South Australian Register Friday 21 April 1876 page 6
EVERARD, William Edward Died 25 August 1889 at Ashford, SA
We regret having to announce today the death, in the seventieth year of his age, of Mr. WilliamEverard, of Ashford, one of our best known colonists. For several months Mr. Everard has been seriously unwell, and latterly he has been confined to his house. During his retirement he has not ceased to take an interest in public matters, and only last week we printed in the Register a letter from his pen. The deceased gentleman was born in London on December, 1819, and came to South Australia with his parents in the Africaine, Captain Duff, in 1836, and was present at the proclamation of the colony six weeks after his arrival. His father, the late Dr. Everard, was one of the first eighteen members elected to the Legislative Council on the establishment of responsible government. For many years Mr. W. Everard was engaged in agricultural and horticultural pursuits with his father and brother, Mr. C. J. Everard, and in connection with the latter he owned property at Myponga. During the greater part of his life his attention has been largely devoted to financial matters. For twenty years he was a Director of the National Bank, and latterly a Director of the Trust and Agency Company, and of the Payneham and Paradise and Goodwood Tramway Companies. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of the City Land and Investment Company, and was also connected with the Largs Bay Land and Investment Company. He was, moreover, a member of the Council of the Adelaide University, and of the Board of Governors of the Public Library and Art Gallery and Museum, as well as of the Board of Management of the Botanic Gardens from 1865. He was a member of the Road Board in 1866. Twenty or more years ago he was associated with the Hon. Lavington Glyde, Mr. A. Abrahams, and other gentlemen in working the well-known Talisker Mine. Mr. Everard was one of the original purchasers of town acres, and the family held a large area of city property. The land on which the Bank of New South Wales and the Adelaide Club now stand belonged to Mr. W. Everard at one time, and also the acre now occupied by the new Government Offices in Victoria square. This year Mr. Everard presented to the Unitarian Church, of which he was a prominent member ever since its foundation in Adelaide, a piece of land adjoining valued by the Commissioner of Taxes at £3,000. Mr. Everard during several years occupied a prominent position in politics. He entered Parliament just four years before his father's retirement in February, 1869, after twelve years of political service. He was first elected to the House of Assembly for the District of Encounter Bay, in March, 1865, in succession to Mr. John Lindsay, having for his colleague Mr. David Sutherland. Prior to this Mr. Everard had offered himself as a candidate, but was rejected chiefly for the reason given by one elector who resented his outspoken uncompromising mode of address that he was 'too jolly independent.' At the general elections of 1868 Mr. Everard was returned for the same constituency, this time with Mr. Neville Blyth, brother of Sir Arthur, our Agent General. Remaining out of the sixth Parliament immediately following he was not again returned till December, 1871, when he was chosen for his old district, with the Hon. Thomas Reynolds as his colleague. Mr. Everard was, however, unseated on petition in February, 1872 by the Court of Disputed Returns, and thus ended his connection with the Assembly. Fourteen months later was elected a member of the Legislative Council in company with Sir Henry Ayers, and Messrs. Alexander Hay, T. Hogarth, J. Fisher, R. A. Tarlton, and W. Duffield, and continued one of the eighteen members comprising the Upper House, who were then returned by the whole province acting as one electoral district, until he vacated his seat on August 1, 1878. While a member of the Legislature Mr. Everard served in three Ministries. He first took office as Commissioner of Public Works in the Hart Administration, which was formed on September 24, 1868, and was succeeded by the Ayers Ministry on the 13th of October following. Besides the Hon. John Hart, C.M.G. (then Mr. J. Hart), Mr. Everard's colleagues in this short-lived Ministry were Mr. Neville Blyth and the late Messrs. J. T. Bagot and W. Townsend. From July 22, 1873, to June 3, 1875, Mr. Everard was Commissioner of Crown Lands and Immigration in the Ministry of which Sir Arthur (then the Hon. Arthur) Blyth was chief. His other colleagues in that Ministry at various times were the late Crown Solicitor (Hon. C Mann, Q.C.), the present Mr. Justice Bundey, and the Hons. J. C. Bray, G. C. Hawker, H. E. Bright, and Lavington Glyde. When Mr. (now Mr. Justice) Boucaut reconstructed his Cabinet on March 25, 1876, Mr. Everard was taken in as Minister of Education, succeeding in that position Mr. Ebenezer Ward, M.P. Although his career as a politician was not distinguished in any special manner, Mr. Everard was undoubtedly an Independent and honest member and a hard working and trustworthy Minister of the Crown. In every sense of the word he proved himself a worthy citizen and colonist. He visited Europe on three or four occasions, and many years ago he married Miss Hughes, sister of Mr. Hughes, the well known geographer, who survives him. There are no children. Mrs. Ralph Everard, living at Modbury, is a sister of the deceased gentleman. His brother, Mr. C. J. Everard, of Marshfield, is also a survivor.
South Australian Register Monday 26 August 1889 page 5
EVERARD, Charles John Died 22 July 1892 at Bay Road
Courtesy of State Library of SA
DEATH of Mr. C. J. Everard.—A pioneer South Australian died on Friday morning in the person of Mr. Charles John Everard, second son of the late Dr. C. G. Everard, who had been a member of the Legislative Council, and brother of the late Mr. William Everard. The deceased resided on the Bay-road, and was an old identity of the district, where he had lived in retirement for many years. He arrived in the colony by the ship Africaine in November, 1836. Mr. Everard, who was seventy-one years of age, leaves a widow, a son (Mr. W. F. Everard), and three daughters.
Evening Journal Friday 22 July 1892 page 2
FISHER, Robert Arrived aged 21 years
GLIDDON, Arthur William 1821 - 04 September 1891 at Adelaide, SA
Arrived aged 15 years Was the first manager of the first branch of the Bank of South Australia at Port Adelaide. Buried Brighton St. Jude's Cemetery
Arthur William Gliddon (1821-1891) was a mere boy by our standards, just fifteen when he set off all alone to South Australia on the Africaine. He had been engaged by John Morphett, who travelled on the Cygnet. Gliddon left one lively letter, written to his brother as the ship sailed into the Cape of Good Hope. This letter described some of his fellow passengers and also referred to a journal that had ‘slipped down into the hold’, leaving us wishing the journal had survived as well. Gliddon traveled as an intermediate passenger, but recorded that he was invited to eat at the captain’s table once each week, a distinction he noted with adolescent satisfaction. In his letter Gliddon seems like an optimistic young man, but typically for his age, he provided little insight into his deeper thoughts or feelings. He was to live a long life in South Australia, eventually becoming a banker. In 1845 he married nineteen year old Marguerite Louise Bellairs. Their early life together was marred by the deaths of their first three children, either at birth or very soon afterwards. Marguerite went on to give birth to seven children, only two of whom survived infancy. This was an unusually high death rate for the time. Arthur Gliddon died in 1890 at the age of 69 and was buried in the Brighton cemetery. His wife survived him by 33 years. http://boundforsouthaustralia.com.au/journey-content/arthur-gliddon.html
GOUGER, Robert, Harriet JACKSON
GOUGER, Robert Died 04 August 1846 in England
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia B48189
Soon after arriving Harriet gave birth to a son, however both died soon after in the March of 1837. It did not get much better for Gouger in South Australia after he was suspended from his duties as colonial secretary after a public brawl with Osmond Gilles. Gouger returned to England and remarried before returning to Adelaide in June 1839. He resumed his role as colonial secretary until the arrival of Governor Grey, at which time Gouger became the colonial treasurer. He held this position until August 1844 when he took leave because of a mental affliction. He did not return to work but instead returned to England, where he died on 4 August 1846.
GOUGER, Harriet Died 14 March 1836 at Glenelg, SA Her poor health was recorded at the beginning of the voyage. She was both four months pregnant and suffering from ‘consumption’ (tuberculosis). The second issue of the South Australian Register and Colonial Gazette records the birth of Harriet’s child on December 20th, 1836. Directly beneath this announcement lies her and her son’s death notice’s, they read: “On March 14th, at Glenelg, of Consumption, Harriet, wife of the Honourable Robert Gouger, aged thirty two years; and On March 15th, their son, Henry Hindmarsh, aged eleven weeks and one day.”
HALLETT, John, Maria KING, John Charles, Richard, Henry
HALLETT, John Died 10 June 1868 at Ilfracombe, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia B9573
Death of Mr. John Hallett.— From the gradually diminishing list of surviving early settlers of South Australia the name of Mr. John Hallett has now to be erased. He first came to the colony in the Africaine. Captain Duff towards the end of the year 1836. Mr. John Hallett is mentioned as being the purchaser of a town acre at the first land sale held on the 27th March, 1837 and again as a contributor towards the erection of the first Wesleyan Chapel and to the Church of England fund. In the list of Grand Jurors published in January, 1938, his name appeared, and on March 28th of the same year he was appointed as one of six gcutlemen elected by the colonists 'for the purpose of considering matters and recommending measures relative to the aborigines;' his colleagues being the Revs. C. B. Howard. A.M., .and T. Q. Stow, Messrs. J. B. Hack, E. Stephens. and J. Morphett. On October 15, 1838, he joined in the address of congratulation and welcome to Governor Gawler on his arrival, and a few days later he is mentioned as among those whose 'liberal assistance' had called forth sincere gratitude from the Catholics of South Australia. It is, however, impossible to allude to every incident connected with his lengthened career in the colony. At an early date he entered into business as a merchant in connection with the late Captain Duff. On the close of this connection he engaged in pastoral pursuits, in which he continued to have an interest until the last. At the time of his death he held the Murninnie Station on the Eastern Plains, 60 or 70 miles north of the Burra; and the Wandilla Station, not far from the Burra. At the same time he was concerned in mining, having been a share holder in the Adelaide Land and Gold Company, and in various other associations, including the Worthing and the Murninnie. It is deserving of mention that at a time in the history of the colony when architecture was greatly neglected, he built a good substantial brick house on South-terrace, which afterwards was in the occupation of Captain Berkeley, but has now been demolished, like many other relics of primitive times. On March 9, 1857. Mr. Hallett was elected in conjunction with Mr. T. Reynolds, as a representative of the District of Sturt in the first House of Assembly under the new Constitution Act on the 23rd of March, 1863, he was re elected for the Sturt, in connection with Mr. Joseph Peacock, defeating Mr. K. B. Andrews by three votes. On the 21 st October, 1862. Parliament was prorogued, and the next day dissolved by proclamation. Mr. Hallett once more offered himself as a candidate, but was defeated, the voting being in favour of Mr. jr. B. Andrews and Mr. Joseph Peacock. In August of the following year he was one of five candidates for three vacancies in the Legislative Council, but at the conclusion of he scrutiny he was found to occupy the fourth place. Since then he has lived in comparative seclusion, and his name, which before had often figured in connection with public matter, was not again brought prominently before the public. Eight years ago be took up his residence at Ilfracombe. near Beaumont. In July, 1938, he was taken ill, his complaint assuming apoplectic symptoms. Although not actually confined to his bed he never enjoyed good health afterwards. The whole control of his business he transferred to his brother Alfred, and only once since the date above-mentioned has he been to Adelaide, namely, in Septemher, 1835. Of late he has teen suffering from softening of the brain, and he has had three attacks of serous apoplexy. About a fortnight ago bronchitis set in, which greatly reduced his strength. About noon on Wednesday last, June 10, Dr. Benson saw him, but observed nothing unusual in his state. At 9 o'clock he retired to rest, but shortly afterwards, evidently thinking that death was near, he called up his family. Between 10 and 11 o'clock the same night he breathed his last. His funeral took place on Saturday last when his remains were buried in the Magill Cemetery, the Rev. T. R. Neville officiating Only a few friends were present at the grave, no notice having been given of the funeral in consequence of the deceased's express wish that the burial should be conducted in a strictly private manner. Mr. Hallett has left a widow and 10 children— five sons, and five daughters. Of the latter, one is married to Mr. Carlile, of Mickolo, Western Plains; one to Dr. Goldsmith, of Robe; and one to Mr. Woods, of the South Australian Bank, at the same place.
South Australian Register Saturday 20 June 1868 page 6
HALLETT, Maria nee KING Died 24 January 1891 at Marryatville, SA
The Late Mrs. John Hallett. — This lady, who was the widow of one of our most energetic and esteemed pioneers, died on Saturday, at Marryatviile, at the advanced age of eighty-two, and was buried in the Magill Cemetery on Monday week. After a service in St. Matthew's Church by the Incumbent, the interment took place in tho family burial ground at Magill, the Rev. W. A. Swan again officiating. The funeral was attended by Mr. Henry Hallett (son), Messrs. J. O. Carlile, A. Brodie, and N. Wood (sons in law). Dr. F. Goldsmith and Mr. J. C. Carlile (grandsons), and several old colonists amongst whom were Sir Edwin Smith. Mr. H. T. Morris, Mr. A. B. Murray, Hon. W. Cavenagh, Dr. Cawley, and Messrs. C. Fenn, J. II. Parr, L. Sholl, G. L. and J. W. Reed, W. Mair, W. R. Barnes, H. Mildred, H. P. Denton, and A. G. Burt. The deceased lady was noted for her generous hospitality in the early Adelaide days. She came out with her husband, the late Mr. John Hallett, in the Africaine, commanded by Captain Duff, and was present at the proclamation of the colony. They resided for a short period on Kangaroo Island and after coming to Glenelg Mr. Hallett and Captain Duff started business in Adelaide as merchants, being amongst the first mercantile firms in the colony. After wards Mr. Hallett took up land — the section where the township of Magill was subsequently laid out, and some of the first cattle brought overland to South Australia, were purchased by him. He was an enterprising man, and soon extended his operations, securing the Wandilla Run, near Mount Bryan — one of the earliest taken up— also Coroona, to the east of Wandilla ; and he subsequently bought Winninnie and Mundi Mundi, in the Barrier Ranges. Mr. Hallett built on South-terrace one of the first two story houses erected in Adelaide, and there Mrs. Hallett soon became noted for her free handed hospitality and pleasant disposition. Her husband sat for Sturt in the Assembly thirty years age. They left behind three sons— Messrs. E., H., and S. Hallett— and five daughters — Maria, married to Mr. J. O. Carlile, of Adelaide ; Emma, married to Mr. A. Brodie, of Morphett Vale; Clara, married to Mr. N. Wood, of Port Adelaide; Miss Julia Hallett ; and Jessie, married to Mr. W. Little, of Terowie. Their grand children number twenty -six.
South Australian Register Tuesday 03 February 1891 page 3
Henry was profoundly deaf.
HILL, Joseph Augustus Died 11 July 1904 at Laura, SA
Courtesy of State Library of SA
THELATE MR. J.A.HILL. Laura. July . 14. Mr. J.A.Hill, whose death was announced in The Advertiser on Tuesday, reached his 85th year on June 3, and had been in the State for 68 years, having arrived from England in the barque Africane (Captain Duff), in June, 1836, after a three months' voyage. He was present at the hoisting of the flap and the reading of the proclamation of the colony by Governor Hindmarsh, and each year; when it has been possible, had made his way to Glenelg on December 28, to witness the ceremonies in connection with the anniversary of Proclamation Day. Mr. Hill was born at Brentford, England. After his arrival in South Australia he was employed in the Surveyor-General's Office, and eventually was chief clerk in the Commissariat Department. After some time spent on a sheep station and at school teaching he came to Laura and secured the position of clerk to the Booyoolie District Council, which he occupied for nearly 20 years. Mr. Hill claimed to be the oldest journalist in the State, and for many years contributed to several country newspapers, and was the writer of "Current Events," which appeared weekly in the Laura Standard. He also was Laura correspondent of The Advertiser for a number of years. During his residence in Laura he occupied the position of councillor in the Laura Corporation on two occasions, and was auditor for a number of years.
The Advertiser Friday 15 July 1904 page 8
The death is announced, at the age of 85 years, of Mr. J. A. Hill, a worthy pioneer of South Australia. The deceased gentle man came to South Australia in 1836 in the ship Africaine, and was present at the proclamation of the State at Glenelg. He was a native of Brentford, England. At one period in the early days Mr. Hill was employed as clerk to the first town surveyor (Mr. Hardy), and he was responsible for the clearing of the surveyed streets of the city of trees and scrub, and later he was employed at the Surveyor-General's Office, and rose lo the chief clerkship of the Survey Stores Department. Mr. Hill was subsequently engaged on a sheep station at the Burra, and eventually he work ed as a compositor in Adelaide, and just prior to the Victorian gold rush he was a school-teacher. Most of the male population of South Australia went to the diggings, and Mr. Hill remained behind, and became a police trooper at Maccleslield. After changing his occupation several times between 1850 and 1881, in the latter year he accepted the position of clerk to the Booyoolie District Council. Mr. Hill died at his residence, North Laura, on Monday night, after a painful illness.
Chronicle Saturday 16 July 1901 page 32
IRWIN, Abraham and wife
Many people in South Australia are not aware of the beauty of the little church of St. Matthew's, Hamilton, in the parish of Kapunda, and of early settlers who lie at rest in the little cemetery there, Laurie H. Ellis, of Hamilton, says One finds on a very old tablet the inscription:—"Sacred to the memory of AndrewJacobs, who arrived in this colony on November 9, 1836. and departed this life on March 8, 1864, aged 58 years. Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord." He arrived in the ship Africaine, and was among the first settlers to set foot on South Australian soil.
The Advertiser Monday 10 April 1939 page 13
LEE, Joseph (w?), son Henry James
LEWIS / LOWIS, wife
Married Robert Fisher 11 December 1837
MACDONALD / MCDONALD Hugh
MARTIN Mary (Emily?) Arrived aged 16 years - possibly servant to Robert Gouger
MASTERS, James, Elizabeth BROWN
MASTERS, James Died 04 October 1861 in York, England
JamesMasters started life in South Australia as the licensee of the Commercial Hotel, the site of which is now occupied by Brookman Buildings, in Grenfell-street, Adelaide. A picture of the old hostelry is in the possession of the City Council, and a copy of it used to hang in the late Sir George Brookman's office. The backyard of the hotel now accommodates Alma Chambers, and was a popular tying-up place for visitors from the outer areas. Before its demolition the hotel was delicensed, and used as a lime depot. Simultaneously with his publican's business, Masters entered upon pastoral pursuits. It is on record that John Maslin, of Bundaleer fame, secured employment from him to treat some scabby sheep. The earliest ventures of Masters were in partnership with Price Maurice, another pastoral magnate. They had 134 acres at the Reedbeds, where a dairy and stockyard were erected. The directory for 1844 shows them as the owners of 2,500 sheep and 150 cattle in the Gawler district, and they also had country at Mypong., In that year Masters exhibited wool at the first Show of the Agricultural Society. Evidently he was a great judge of good country, because he eventually 'squatted' in what is now the Hundred of Gilbert, and owned nearly all the land between Saddleworth and Riverton, which he stocked with sheep. For some of the time he was in partnership with his nephew (Charles Swinden) and Dr.Matthew Moorhouse, first Protector of Aborigines. The trio realised that such choice country could not remain exclusively as a sheep walk, and they voluntarily subdivided portion of it for closer settlement. However, the inevitable resumption by the Government came in due course. Saddleworth Lodge Prior to this Masters had established his headquarters oh what became section 1282, and he built a fine home, which he called Saddleworth Lodge, after his birthplace, the Saddleworth in Yorkshire. It was a great house of call on the part of travellers in pre railway days, and nobody need pass without partaking of Its owner's splendid hospitality. ' The late Rev. E. K. Miller, in his reminiscences, describes the warm reception he had there, although he knocked up the household at 3 o'clock in the morning, having lost his way coming from Penwortham. The Moorhouse and Swinden families lived at Saddleworth Lodge at different periods. The house —a landmark for many years— was eventually destroyed by fire. Genesis of Riverton Masters's occupation of the Riverton country dated back to 1840. After the resumption he bought section 500 from the Crown in 1845, according to Cockburn's 'Nomenclature of South Australia,' and in 1856-7 had a portion of it laid out as a township, which he called Riverton, because it is on the banks of the River Gilbert. Much of the managerial work on the run was done by Charles Swinden. Two other nephews named Carrick were associated with Masters. The latter also established the town of Saddleworth, prior to which event Joseph Dunn kept an hotel in the locality. Holy Trinity Church JamesMasters was a great supporter Of the Church of England and its institutions. In 1849 he gave £100 to the Pulteney Grammar School, besides a freehold property of equal value, and he became a trustee of the school. His most generous religious benefactions fell to the lot of Holy Trinity Church, Riverton, where there is a tablet to the memory of himself and his wife. The latter laid the foundation stone. The church was endowed with 84 acres of land by Mr. Masters, 20 acres by Mr. Swinden, and £100 worth by Mr. Monckton. The consecration took place on May 25, 1858. The vestry was built at the expense of Samuel Stocks, sen.; the cover for the communion table was the handworked gift of Mrs. Short, wife of the first Bishop of Adelaide; and cushions for the communion and pulpit were contributed by Mesdamcs Masters, Horner, and Parr. The east window was presented by Archdeacon Woodcock and Messrs. Masters and Stocks, and the stained glasswork was executed by Mr. Brooks, of North Adelaide. The cedar pulpit was the gift of David Bower, also a Yorkshireman. Early Days . When settlement began to take place around Riverton, JamesMasters gave land for a cemetery : and built a fine school for the children at his own expense, but reserved the property to himself so that -the Bible would not be expelled from it. He also helped the Sunday-school generously, and prior to his departure for England, in 1861, the children marched to Saddleworth Lodge, drew up in a semi-circle before the house, and presented their benefactor with a Bible. From Eng land Mr. Masters sent out a pair of brass sconces for the pulpit, and reading desk of his old church, and a tablet in memory of Mr. Horner, another pioneer of the district. Early news paper files report a meeting of seat holders of Riverton Trinity Church in April, 1861, at which it was announced that Mr. Masters would probably enlarge the schoolroom upon his return from abroad. The return to his native land, which Mr. Masters had so richly earned, was marked by his death in the city of York on October 4, 1861, at the age of 60 years. His widow died at Riverton on October 28. 1864. aged 62. George Tinline, whose Bullion Act saved the credit of South Australia during the Victorian gold rush, was one of Mr. Masters' executors. The testator had a brother, Charles, in England, to whom he left £500, and the Swindens were also, among the beneficiaries. Mr. Masters had shown his broadmindedness by also endowing the Bible Christian Church in Riverton. It was also due to the enterprise of Mr. Masters that Riverton had the farthest north flour mills for many years. This was built in the early fifties, and was a great boon to wheatgrowers and settlers as we, as the parties setting out on long journeys northwards. A fatal boiler explosion took place at this mill. Eventually the premises were destroyed by fire, and thereby the town was the poorer. The Swinden family occupied Saddleworth Lodge on the death of Mr. Masters, and for some years it was the jumping-off place for much exploration work northwards.
Chronicle Thursday 24 October 1929 page 55
MASTERS, Elizabeth Died 28 October 1864 at Riverton, SA
"In memory of James Masters, late of Saddleworth Lodge, who died at the city of York, England, on the 4th of October, 1861, aged 60 years; also of ElizabethMasters, relict of the above, who died at Saddleworth Lodge, Riverton, on the 28th of October, 1864, aged 62 years." Masters went to England for a holiday because his health was failing. But he got worse, and died before hecould return to Australia.
NANTES, Charles James 1817 - 27 July 1877 in Melbourne, Vic.
Charles James Nantes (1817 – 1877) was born in Abbotsham, Devon, England to Henry Nantes and his third wife Patty Eliza Benson. Charles was the fifth of seven children. In 1836, at the age of 19 Charles Nantes was appointed clerk to Colonial Secretary Robert Gouger and sailed with him to South Australia aboard the Africaine. Nantes was one of the party of men who attempted to hike across Kangaroo Island when the Africaine called in at the coast of the Island. Nantes and 3 others were found alive but the remaining two men in the party perished. In 1838-1839 he was recorded as clerk to the Accountant General of the colony. In about 1847 he appeared in Geelong, Victoria where he established himself as a businessman – wine and spirit merchant, lessor of premises, etc. He was a councillor for Geelong and Mayor of Chilwell as well as the trustee for numerous public bodies including Geelong Grammar School. He married Helen Gibb Smith in 1848 at St Peters Church, Melbourne. By about 1860, he was declared bankrupt and ended his working life as a station master. He died in Melbourne on 27 July 1877.
OSBORNE, E W Died shortly after arrival aged 19 years
PARSELL, George, Mary Ann COOKE, John, James Africaine
PARSELL, George c1805 - 07 January 1876 in Kyneton, Vic. Born Hertfordshire, England Remarried to Sarah NUTTALL in 1870 after the death of his wife.
PARSELL, Mary Ann nee COOKE c1805 - 10 July 1869 in Kyneton, Vic.
PARSELL, John c1831 - 07 November 1904 in Telford, Vic. Mr. John Parsell, one of the oldest pioneers of this district, died at his late residence, " Hill View," Telford, on Monday night last, the cause of death being a general break - up of the system. Deceased, who was 76 years of age, was one of our oldest colonists, having arrived in this country in 1835. He traded in Melbourne when it was but a " bush " town, and delighted in relating his experiences of the early days. He resided for many years in Kyneton, where the whole of his family were born, and came to this district 30 years ago. Deceased, who was highly respected, leaves a family of five sons and five daughters, all of whom are well and favorably known in this district. The interment took place in the Tungamah general cemetery, the remains being followed by a large cortege of mourners. The funeral service was conducted by the Rev. Father Brady, P.P.
Benalla Standard Friday 11 November 1904 page 3 PARSELL, James Africaine Born at sea on the voyage to Australia 05 September 1836 Died 1924 in Kyneton, Vic. After a fortnight's illness Mr. James Parsell, a very old and respected resident, died at his residence in Simpson-street. He was a native of Adelaide, and was 87 years of age. He came to Victoria 70 years ago, and has been a resident of the Kyneton district for practically the whole of the time since. He is survived by his wife, six sons and four daughters. The sons are John and James (Langley). Samuel and Joseph (Black Hill ). Alexander (New Zealand). and William (Gippsland) . The daughters are Mrs. J. Guthrie (Tylden). Mrs. J. McCuskey ( Richmond ). Mrs. J. Thompson ( Kyneton ), and Mrs T. Hamano (Gippsland). The interment took place in the Kyneton Cemetery. Rev. Fr. Power officiated at the grave.
Advocate Thursday 17 January 1924 page 29
POLLARD, John Edward, Maria SMITH
POLLARD, John Edward May have died 30 May 1865 in Adelaide, SA age 50 years Buried West Terrace Cemetery Road 1 South Path 32 E2nd 36
POLLARD, Maria nee SMITH Died 25th November 1861 at Wattle Hill, Yankalilla POLLARD.-- On the 25th November, at Wattle Hill, Yankalilla, MariaPollard, the wife of John E. Pollard, aged 43 years, after a long illness, borne with Christian fortitude. She arrived in the colony with her husband in the ship Africaine, November 6, 1836.
South Australian Register Friday 06 December 1861 page 2
A case of sudden death is reported from KangarooIsland. Mr. William Seymour had been to Adelaide for medical advice, and returned by the cutter Mazeppa, Captain J. Bruce, apparently in good spirits, and very hearty. On Tuesday the cutter arrived at near Mr. Lashmere's house, and Seymour here landed at about 7 p.m., seemingly all right, saying it would only take him half an hour to get home. On Wednesday morning, however, his son, who had been sent by Mrs. Seymour to see if her husband had returned, found him lying across the path dead. There was no-evidence of any struggle, nor any mark of violence upon him. On the circumstances being made known a number of the neighboUrs viewed the body, and, in the absence of a Justice of the Peace, took the evidence of Captain Brace and young Seymour, and recorded their opinion that death resulted from natural causes.
The Express and Telegraph Wednesday 14 May 1873 page 2
SKIPPER, John Michael Died 07 December 1883 at Kent Town, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia
In Kent Town on Friday afternoon one of the early colonists of South Australia breathed his last. Mr. JohnMichael Skipper was the eldest son of Mr. John Skipper, a lawyer of high standing in Norwich, and was himself destined for the legal profession. He was educated in the Norwich Grammar School, and became a clever classical scholar, as well as a good linguist. When quite a youth, in 1883, he entered the service of the Hon. East India Company, first as a midshipman on board the Sherburne, Captain Corbyn, R.N. He displayed remarkable artistic abilities, and a sea journal exquisitely illustrated by him testifies to his talent, the scenes depicted being full of vigour and true artistic taste. In 1836 his love of adventure tempted him to visit Australia, and he arrived here in the Africaine, and married the eldest daughter of Mr. Robert Thomas, the founder of the Press in South Australia. He was articled to Mr. (afterwards Judge) Gwynne, and practised as a solicitor until the diggings fever broke out in the colony in 1851-2, when he joined in the search for gold, but returned to Adelaide like many others only fairly successful. He received an appointment in the Civil Service and continued in it for over twenty years, when he resigned, receiving a retiring allowance, and lived for several years a secluded life upon some little property he purchased. He possessed uncommon ability as a writer, and was a large contributor to the early colonial literature here, his caustic satires and keen sense of humour being ably directed against the abuses or follies of the day, and what his pen began his facile pencil completed, as he was a clever caricaturist. He painted a good deal in oils, and many of his productions betoken such talent and originality as would have placed him high in the ranks of marine or landscape artists had he followed art as a profession. Numbers of exquisite sketches in watercolours, also by him, still exist and are of more than ordinary value now as they faithfully represent scenes in and around Adelaide which are now no longer recognisable except by old colonists, by reason of the changes which have taken place since the site of the city was a wilderness and the country a hunting ground for the aboriginals. More than forty years ago Mr. Skipper used to penetrate alone, sketch-book in hand, far into the hills in search of subjects for his pencil, and scores of little gems of art fill the portfolios he has left behind. Like most genuine devotees of art he cared little for publicity and painted only for the love of it. He is the author of a work on perspective and colouring, and was regarded as an authority in matters connected with our ancient armour and costumes. The deceased gentleman was a nephew of the late John Stark, the famous landscape painter, from whom he received much valuable instruction in painting. Hewas an excellent German scholar, and amongst his works are a translation of "Faust" and one of "The Diver," exquisitely illustrated. The deceased gentleman will be buried in West-terrace Cemetery on Sunday afternoon.
Evening Journal Saturday 08 December 1883 page 4
SLATER, John Died shortly after arrival aged 28 years
SMITH, Benjamin Aged 22 years
SMITH, Matthew, Mary/May, Henry James
SMITH, Matthew Died 18 November 1858 at Prospect, SA
Recently several interesting, documents concerning incidents connected with the earlier history, of South Australia have been published, and the reproduction which follows is specially noteworthy. It is a copy of an address presented to a well known South Australian lawyer, who died more than half a century ago—Mr. Matthew Smith—whose daughter was the first wife of Mr. E. J. Cox, of the firm of Wadey & Cox, the Adelaide City Solicitors.. Mr, Smith arrived in Adelaide by the Africaine in November, 1836. He resided for a short time on Kangaroo Island, and afterwards practised the profession of the law in Adelaide. On the early settlement of Port Lincoln be was appointed a Resident Magistrate. He ultimately returned to Adelaide, where be conducted a practice, and filled at intervals the important offices of Stipendiary Magistrate, and Acting Commissioner of Insolvency. On his retirement from the public service Mr. Smith was on June 10, 1858. the recipient of a testimonial from the other members of the legal, profession in Adelaide. He died at Prospect five months later—November 18, 1858 aged 64 years. He was a man of great intelligence, and much esteemed by all classes of the community. The address which follows explains itself, but it is interesting to add that the writing is exceedingly dear, and that the signatures are particularly valuable, as autographs of leading men of 56 years ago in Adelaide, and also because only one of the signatories—Sir James Penn Boucaut—now survives. THE ADDRESS Matthew -Smith, Esq. Dear Sir—We, the undersigned practitioners in the Court of Insolvency of the Province, take occasion on your retirement from the Acting Commissionership to express our satisfaction at the very able manner in which you have discharged the duties of that office during the period of your continuance in it. As lawyers, necessarily we are best qualified to estimate the value of those services; but the general public cannot, we think, have witnessed, without approval, .the judgment and discretion which on all occasions as Commissioner you have manifested in the solution of questions frequently of great difficulty, and uniformly affecting the interests of the Colony. The difficulties and responsibilities of the office have been further increased during your tenure of it by reason of the inauguration of a new system of insolvency law, which you have been suddenly called upon to administer, and which has rendered necessary a code of rules and regulations which have been prepared by you with admirable skill for carrying the ordinance into effect. We have also to acknowledge the courtesy with which your intercourse with the profession has always been conducted, and which has greatly facilitated the dispatch of business in your Court. On these grounds we believe that we express the views not only of the profession to which we have the honour to belong, bat also of the community generally, when we affirm that while in office you merited and obtained the confidence of all, and that on your retirement it is matter of general regret that abilities so eminent as you have displayed should no longer be available to the public service. We are Dear Sir, yours truly, Adelaide, 10th June, 1858.
Observer Saturday 08 August 1914 page 36
Mr. MatthewSmith.-- The many friends of this respected gentlemen were alarmed yesterday by the intelligence that he had been attacked at half-past 10 o'clock p.m., on Thursday, by a paralytic stroke, from the effects of which he remained insensible during the entire night. He partially recovered consciousness about an hour before noon, yesterday, and Dr. Bayer, who attended him, found him rather better at midday. On enquiry at a late hour last night, we ascertained from the doctor that the patient's state was still precarious, and that he was not entirely sensible, though rather more so than in the morning.
South Australian Register Saturday 13 November 1858 page 2
THE LATE MR. MATTHEWSMITH.-The mortal remains of this old colonist and much respected man will be carried to their last resting-place at North Adelaide Cemetery this day, at 11 o'clock a.m.
SNOSWELL, John Died 04 September 1873 in Port Adelaide, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia
SNOSWELL.—On the 4th September 1873, at the Duke of Wellington Hotel, Port Adelaide, Mr. JohnSnoswell, in his 55th year. A colonist of 37 years.
Mr. JohnSnoswell,who came from Deal, Kent, in the Africaine in 1836. Mr. Snoswell was then 18, and he secured employment at his trade—boat building—with the South Australian Company. Subsequently he established a boat-building business in Port Adelaide, and conducted it successfully for many years. Ultimately he became the proprietor of the Duke of Wellington Hotel, at Port Adelaide.
SYMONDS, Bessie nee DARMODY
THOMAS Robert, Mary HARRIS, Frances Amelia, William Kyffin, Mary, Helen
THOMAS, Robert Died 01 July 1860 in Adelaide, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia
The late Me. Robert Thomas.-A notice will be found in another portion of this paper, announcing the death of Mr. RobertThomas, at his residence, Rhantregwnwyn Cottage, Hindley-street, west, on Sunday afternoon. Mr. Thomas was one of our oldest colonists; he came out from England by the ship Africane, in November, 1836 ; was one of the original proprietors of the Register newspaper, in conjunction with the late Mr. George Stevenson, the first number of which he published in London, shortly after its publication proceeding to South Australia with the plant required for the production of the newspaper in the colony. Mr.Thomas erected the first house ever built in Adelaide, from which the second number of the South Australian Register was published. Mr. Thomas was born in November 1781, and for several years carried on business in London as a law stationer. Se was one of the first persons who took a part in the original settlement of the | colony, and at that early period purchased land in London before the colony was founded. His son, Mr. RobertThomas, civil engineer, was one of the first survey staff employed by Government in laying out the lands of the colony, and who has since returned to England to follow his profession there. Mr. Thomas has left a widow and another son, Mr. W. Kyffin Thomas, one of the present proprietors of the Register newspaper, and two daughters, both of whom are married. Mr. Thomas has been out of business since the year 1842, although during a few years since that period he held the situation of Inspector of Weights and Measures. He was at the time of his death 79 years of age, and up to that period in the enjoyment of excellent health. About a fortnight or three weeks ago he caught a severe cold, which settled on his lungs and terminated fatally on Sunday afternoon. His funeral will take place on Wednesday next, at 2 o'clock.
The South Australian Advertiser Monday 02 July 1860 page 3
THOMAS, Mary nee HARRIS Died 10 February 1875
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia
Mrs. Robert Thomas.— Another of the pioneer colonists of Sooth Australia passed away on Wednesday, February 10, in the person of Mrs. Robert Thomas, of Rhantregwynwyn cottage, Hindley-street, the widow of the founder of the Register, and therefore of the press in South Australia. She had attained the ripe age of 87. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas, with their family, arrived in the Africaine in 1836, and were present when the province was proclaimed by Governor Hindmarsh. The deceased lady has resided here ever since, and has lived on the game acre upon which the first house erected in Adelaide was built. In 1831 the published, at the earnest request of her friends, a collection of ' Serious Poems,' which bore evidence of ability and originality of thought, and she was also the author of many meritorious contributions to the Press of this colony. Her living descendants, all of whom are residents in South Australia, number 56, viz., 4 children, 27 grandchildren, and 25 great grand children. The funeral took place on Friday afternoon. Tho burial rites were performed by the Rev. R. Reid, of Trinity Church, of which place of worship the deceased had been a member from the earliest days of colonial history. The remains were followed to the West-terrace Cemetery by Messrs. R. G. and W. K. Thomas, sons, B. G. S. and R. K. Thomas, S. J. Skipper, L., A. K., and E. K. Thomas, W. C. and II. R. T. Skipper, and V. Mantegani, grandsons ; E. Sawtell and C. Birks, grandsons-in-law. There were also in the procession Dr. Gowe, Mr. £. W. Andrews J.P., Mr. J. H. Clark, J.P., and several gentlemen connected with the Register. The death of the above lady, -was very feelingly alluded to by the Rev. R. Reid, Incumbent of Trinity Church, in his sermon to the congregation there on Sunday morning, February 14. He remarked that she was the second old colonist who attended that church whose departure for a better world within a very recent period had taken place, mentioning Sir James H. Fisher as the other. He alluded to her regular and devout attendance there up to a very recent period, when the infirmities consequent on her advanced age (87) prevented its continuance. He had visited her for 16 years in the course of his parochial duties, and always found her of a kind, loving, and Christian disposition— in truth, a God-fearing woman. Some four years ago, whilst discussing the various writings and periodicals of the day, she had given him a book of her own composition, which he characterised as bearing evidence of great mental ability, and the stamp of' true piety. Be valued it most highly. Her death, following so soon on that of Sir J. H. Fisher, could not fail to produce holy and beneficial thoughts among them.
South Australian Register Saturday 27 February 1875 page 6
GOLD intense enough to freeze water in a tin dish at night, followed by a day temperature of 110 deg., was one of the things which astonished Mrs. Robert Thomas most on her arrival at Holdfast Bay in 1836 with her husband and family. On the first night she and her three daughters and a woman assistant slept in a small tent, where everything was very crude and unadorned. The men slept in the sandhills at Holdfast Bay, and were encircled twith packages and furniture. Mrs. Thomas, who was born at Southampton, in England, in 1787, and married in 1818, sailed for Australia in the Africaine in 1838. During the journey the children suffered from illness. and Mrs. Thomas from home-sickness. After four and a half months they arrived in the new country, where they were delighted with the scenery, which "resembled an English park," according to Mrs. Thomas' interesting diary of early days in this State. This diary, together with reminiscences, has been published in book form, and reveals the charm of the writer. Mary Thomas' first encounter with natives was not alarming and in her diary she said that they never annoyed the whites. She showed them many articles which had been brought from England, and in wonder they shouted. "Mouny! Mouny!" their word for surprise. She was a sympathetic and kind friend in the small community and was respected as a high-minded and well-educated woman from the Old Country. In the midst of her duties as house wife and mother she found time to write poems, a book of which has been published. Her descendants are living in this State, and some of them are members of the Pioneer Association.
News Tuesday 21 January 1936 page 9
THOMAS, Frances Amelia Died 27 February 1855 at Adelaide, SA
Courtesy of State Library of South Australia
Frances Amelia Skipper was the eldest daughter of Robert and Mary Thomas who arrived in South Australia aboard the Africaine in 1836. Her future husband, John Michael Skipper, also emigrated to South Australia aboard the Africaine. The couple married in December 1839. Both were interested in art and Frances accompanied her husband on his trips into the bush surrounding the growing town of Adelaide, assisting him with sketches and in some cases providing the basis for his work, in others completing his sketches. Watercolour portrait painting was her particular area of expertise. She is represented in the South Australian Art Gallery. Frances was also a gifted linguist and writer producing translations from French and Italian. After her death in 1855 John married her younger sister, Mary.
Deathof an Old Colonist.—Our obituary column to-day records the death of Mrs. J. M. Skipper, who was one of the earliest colonistsof South Australia. She was a daughter of the late Mr. Robert Thomas, and arrived here with her father and other numbers of the family by the ship Africaine in November, 1836. Her husband is Mr. J. M. Skipper, solicitor, who for many years occupied the position of Clerk of the Local Court at Port Adelaide, Mrs. Skipper only survived by a fortnight the decease of her brother, Mr.R. G. Thomas (the late Secretary of the Central Board of Health).
Adelaide Observer Saturday 05 May 1883 page 37
THOMAS, William Kyffin Died 04 July 1878 at Glenelg, SA
It is with sincere regret that we record the death of Mr. William Kyffin Thomas, senior proprietor of the Register, which occurred on Thursday, 4th July, at his residence, Glenelg. The deceased gentleman was one of our earliest colonists, and a pioneer of journalism in the colony. With a view to engaging in newspaper work in the settlement of South Australia, then about to be formed, Mr. Thomas, at that time a boy, spent six months in a printing-office in the old country. His father, Mr. Robert Thomas, well remembered by old colonists, was connected with the Register from its establishment in 1836 in London, till some years afterwards he continued his interest in it in this colony. In November, 1836, the subject of this notice, with his father and family, arrived in Holdfast Bay by the Africaine, a which brought a number of the early settlers, including the commander, Captain Duff, the late Dr. Everard, Mr. John Brown, and others. Mr. Thomas was present at the proclamation of the colony by Captain Hindmarsh, under the old gumtree, at the Bay, and has never been away from Australia since then, his travels not having extended beyond the neighbouring colonies. He assisted with his own hands to set up, in July, 1837, the first copy of the Regsiter published in the province, and has ever since maintained his connection with that newspaper, except for an interval of some months in 1852, when he was at the Victorian diggings, and for a brief period some years before that time. From an early period in the history of the Register until the time of his death the printing department was under his control, and every piece of machinery has been put up under his superintendence. In 1853 he became one of the proprietors - seven in number - who bought the Register and Observer from the executors of the late Mr. John Stephens, for some years the fearless and able editor of those journals. Of the seven proprietors some died and others sold their interest, till Mr Thomas was the last, and now the property is in entirely different hands. Mr. Thomas was not a very active public man, his business engagements absorbing most of this time. In December, 1863, he was elected City Councillor for the Grey Ward, and having served in that capacity in the Corporation for twelve months, he became a candidate for the Mayoralty, but was defeated by Mr. William Townsend by a majority of 101 votes. For many years he was on the Commission of the Peace. The career of the deceased colonist has been an honorable and deservedly successful one, and he had secured the esteem not merely of a numerous circle of friends, but of his fellow citizens generally, who knew him as a man of sterling integrity and a kindly disposition and manner. He leaves a widow, three sons, six daughters, and twenty grand-children. Mr. R. G. Thomas, Secretary to the General Board of Health, is his elder brother. The remains of Mr. Thomas, were interred in the West-terrace Cemetery on Saturday, 6th July. The funeral cortege, which consisted of a hearse drawn by four horses, four mourning coaches, and about 30 other vehicles, started from the Bay at 1 o'clock, and reached the Cemetery about 3 o'clock. The procession was joined on the way by several vehicles containing employees of the Register. A large number of persons assembled at the Cemetery, where the burial service was conducted by the Revs. C. Manthorpe and S. Mead, M.A., L.L.B. During the ceremony by the Rev. Mr. Mead, who is the pastor of the Flinders-street Baptist Church, of which the deceased was a prominent member, spoke a follows: - "The graveside is no place for the eulogy of the dead. They need no commendation, no eulogies from us. Those who, justified by the faith that lays hold of Jesus Christ, pass up at once into the presence of the Eternal Father, hear from His lips the 'Well done, good and faithful servant,' and are satisfied with the Divine commendation. That expression of approval is worth more than ten thousand plaudits from mortal and sinful men. I have not a moment's doubt but that the honor of hearing God's approval 'Well done, good and faithful servant,' has already been in heaven bestowed on our friend - and to many of us our dear friend - William Kyffin Thomas . It is nevertheless befitting, I think, that on this occasion occasion some words should be spoken in reference to the life and death of him who, as one of our earliest colonists, has filled no mean place in the history of this South Australian community. He was not indeed a fluent speaker, nor was he, I believe, much given to the writing of original matter for the Press. There can be no doubt, however, that his good judgement and high moral convictions have done much towards developing and fostering a healthy national life in this provision. It is to such men as William Kyffin Thomas that, under God, the later generation of colonists are indebted for much of that sound integrity in business life exisiting among us, and which we hope may continue to characterise our commercial life still more and more. We mourn today the loss of one who for himself held firmly to the principle of high probity, and did his best to encourage it in others. We want such men multiplied among us who will scorn every form and phase of meanness. We want this, not simply amid all those daily movements and operations which are covered by the terms labour and business, but it is of the highest consequence that throughout the whole range of our social life a strong and victorious regard to all that is true and pure and righteous and good should animate every one of us as it did our departed friend. While the life of Mr. W. K. Thomas has been marked by diligent labour, perserverance, enterprise, high purposes, probity, and moral integrity, this was not the whole. He was not ashamed either to serve or confess his allegiance to God in Christ. He made no secret of his faith in the personal Redeemer. Nor was he at all reluctant to avow that through the divine mercy he owed the commencement of his life of faith in the Son of God to the ministrations of the late Rev. Thomas Binney on the occasion of his visit to this colony some 30 years ago. It was then that he became a Christian - became a new man in Christ Jesus. Since then he has striven to live out a Christian life. How far he did so, those about him business and those who saw him in private life can best judge. He himself was far from imagining that his Christian life at all came near to his own idea of what that life might be. Yet his daily and unwavering faith in Christ was a perpetual joy to him. He did rejoice in God his Saviour, and that daily for these 18 years past. Nor did he begrudge service in the cause of his Saviour. As illustrations of this, I may say that except when disease necessitated he was never absent from the house God as the appointed house of worship. For the 16 years that I have been associated with him in Church fellowship I do not remember a single instance in which he allowed the claims of business to prevent his attendance at the weekly prayer meeting. He had also generous conceptions of what he owed to God in regard to his stewardship of money. It was a pleasure to him to give, and he gave freely. We have said he is dead. Rather he is living in the fulness of the powers of his life. "Let us believe it is not death to die, To leave this weary road, And 'midst the brotherhood on high To be at home with God. "It is not death to fling Aside this sinful dust, And rise on strong exulting wing To live among the just." For some time past our brother has been encompassed with physical disabilities. These have now ceased, and he has passed up into that world where to live is living bliss. Death with him has been swallowed up in victory. It is but a short number of months ago since three prominent men of business and of social position who were at the head of a large business establishment, were wont to meet daily in their offices in Grenfell-street to deliberate about the affairs of colonial life. Only one of these three had exceeded the age of 60, and one had not reached 50. The age of the third you may read on this coffin. When we have lowered this coffin to its resting-place the mortal remains of these three men will be lying in this cemetery. This fact should speak its significant lesson to every living man here. The interpretation of the Divine voice which thus speaks to us at this grave is clearly this—Be thou also ready." The mourning coaches were occupied as follows:—First coach, Messrs. R. K. Thomas, A. K. Thomas, and E. K. Thomas (sons of the deceased), Mr. R. G. Thomas (brother), and the Rev. S. Mead; second coach, Messrs. C. and G. N. Birks (sons-in-law), Mrs Birks and Miss R. K. Thomas (daughters of deceased); third coach, Mr. Wm. Neill (son-in-law), the Rev. C. Manthorpe, and Misses Florence and Annie Thomas (daughters); fourth and fifth coaches, the Hon. Joseph Fisher, Messrs. E. Good, W. Hillier, F. Birks; and S. J. Skipper, V. Montegani, Percival Robinson, R. J. S. Thomas, and W. C. Skipper (nephews of deceased. The mourning coaches were immediately followed by a carriage in which were Messrs. C. Day, J. H. Finlayson (proprietors of the Register), J. M. Day, and G. Wilson.
The South Australian Register Thursday 11 July 1878 page 13
THOMAS, Mary Died 28 April 1883 at Parkside, SA
Our obituary column records the death of Mrs. J. M. Skipper, who was one of the earliest colonists of South Australia. She was a daughter of the late Mr. Robert Thomas and arrived, here with her father and other members of the family by the ship Africaine in November, 1836. Her husband is Mr. J. M. Skipper, solicitor, who for many years occupied the position of Clerk of the Local Court at Port Adelaide, Mrs. Skipper only survived by,' a fortnight the decease of her brother, Mr.R. G. Thomas (the late Secretary of the Central Board of Health).
South Australian Register Wednesday 09 May 1883 page 2
THOMAS, Helen Died 17 August 1921 at Hyde Park, SA
Courtesy of State Library of SA
A colonist of more than 84 years, and 96 years of age! That was the record of Mrs. HelenMantegani, who died at the residence of her daughter (Mrs. M. H. Beevor), Commercial road, Hyde Park, on Wednesday. She had the distinction of being the oldest living colonist of the State, having arrived off Kangaroo Island on November 2, 1836, and landed on the mainland on November 12, from London, in the ship Africaine, thus beating the arrivals in the Buffalo, on December 28, by nearly seven weeks. She was the youngest daughter of the founder of the press in South Australia (Mr. Robert Thomas), and was the sole survivor of the colonists who arrived by the Africaine. Excepting for four years spent in Victoria, at the time of the gold rush in the fifties, and on another occasion,Mrs. Mantegani had lived in South Australia for all but 11 of her 96 years (born July 6, 1825). A Londoner, her home was only three doors from the far-famed Temple Bar (long since demolished). Although she did not see the first number of The Register, in the course of printing in London, she was shown it immediately afterwards, and she witnessed the printing of the first number prepared in South Australia, in June, 1837, on the acre where Register street now is, off Hindley street west. She also saw the printing of the Proclamation of the State in her father's rush hut at Glenelg. -The Old Gumtree - Referring to the proclamation ceremony, which she attended, Mrs. Mantegani some time before her death said:-"The Old Gum tree, as you know, is not the Proclamation Tree. The real tree was nearer to the beach by 50 or 100 yards. It was a beautiful, large, shady tree, and most likely it suffered the fate of being cut down for the splendid wood it contained. The pioneers assembled under the tree close to the tent of Mr. Gouger, the then Colonial Secretary, and after the proclamation had been read it was nailed to the tree. My father, the late Mr. Robert Thomas, an original proprietor of The Register, named the tree 'Temple Bar.' My sister Mary was two years my senior, and we used to climb the Proclamation Tree as far as we dared, and play under it. As children we wandered all over the place-exploring, as we called it - and amused ourselves by playing and gathering wild flowers." Continuing her reminiscences in that interview, she said that a terrible thunderstorm swept over Adelaide on the twenty-first anniversary of Proclamation Day, and the place was deluged with rain. Only a few brief speeches were delivered at the ceremony, as the rain poured in on every one, and spoilt everything. On that occasion it seemed that every conceivable vehicle was commandeered to take the people to the festival, and they were all poor, drenched creatures before they returned. Mrs. Mantegani referred to Governor Hindmarsh, who was a friend of her father. Mr. Gouger came out on the Africaine, and Mr. Osmond Gilles, the first Colonial Treasurer, arrived by the Buffalo. The Africaine called at Rapid Bay, where Col. Light boarded the vessel and travelled to Holdfast Bay. She also knew Capt. Sturt. Other passengers with her on the Africaine were Mr. Robert Thomas (father), Mrs. Thomas (mother), William Kyffin Thomas (their son), Misses Frances and Mary Thomas (their daughters) The Everard and Hallett families were also passengers. Her eldest brother (Mr. R. G. Thomas), with Sir George Kingston, arrived in the Cygnet some time earlier. The Africaine passengers were all carried ashore one hot morning in the arms of sailors, and Mrs. Mantegani and her sister lived in a tent by the old rush hut. -"A Merry Soul."- The deceased lady saw the merry side of everything. (She had the temperament of a schoolgirl throughout her long, eventful life. Even after she had entered upon the nineties she made it a custom to be up at half-past 6, and after breakfast came The Register. It was no cursory perusal she gave the daily newspaper. "I read it from the first page to the last," she told a reporter, "and sometimes the leaders too. After that I go crocheting or sewing, perhaps I do a little reading in between. My evening is always devoted to books. None of your sentimental love stories for me. I like an historical novel better than anything, and Conan Doyle and Le Queux never fail to interest me. I used to be a great reader of Shakespeare's works. I have gone through them many times over. Shakespeare was a universal genius. My favourite is 'Hamlet.' "This grand old pioneer could claim to have lived in the reign of five Sovereigns, and to have witnessed the regime of 21 Governors. She looked upon the famous Coronation coach when King William and Queen Adelaide were the occupants. She was also a spectator of the fire which destroyed the British Houses of Parliament in the early thirties, and recounted how she viewed the blaze from the roof of her home. She had seen Adelaide grow out of the bush into the "beautiful city it is to-day" - to give her own words. She could speak of the times when she beheld a kangaroo hunt in Hindley street, and contrast the speedy motor and electric cars of the present time and the bullock drays of fire time days. "I have tried to be happy," she once said, "although in the early years I had my share of hardships. Then I was fond of the open air, and I think that is where I got my store of good health. But I come of a vigorous family, too. My mother was 87, my grandfather 83, and my great great- grandfather was 101, and I had an aunt who was 96." When Mrs. Mantegani was 75 or thereabouts she adopted painting as a hobby. Nobody gave her a single lesson, but one day she got held of a box of colours, and began dabbling with the brush and palette. She painted flower pictures which for harmony of tint and fidelity of form and foliage were, in the circumstances, masterly. Then her Oriental embroidery work was a triumph of patience and dexterity-a proof of supple fingers and amazingly good eyesight. Those fancy cloths won diplomas at exhibition of the Chamber of Commerce and Chamber of Manufactures. This grand old nonogenarian enjoyed remarkable health until about four months ago. -The Family.- A son (Mr. Victor Mantegani,of Keswick) and a daughter (Mrs. Beevor) survive. There are also several grand-children, including Lieut.-Col. M. F. Beevor).
Observer Saturday 20 August 1921 page 30
VINCENT, Mary Anne Arrived aged 16 years - possibly servant to Robert Gouger
WICKHAM, Benjamin Died 22 December 1875 at McLaren Vale, SA
DEATH OF A VETERAN. — In our funeral notices is an announcement that Mr. Benjamin Wickham, of Wickham Park, has joined "the great majority." The deceased gentleman, besides being a pioneer colonist, having arrived here in the ship Africaine in 1836, was a Peninsular veteran, having fought under Wellington, and received a wound at Badajoz. Mr. Wickham has been in the receipt of a pension since his retirement from active service. He was 90 years of age at the time of his decease, and was the head of a family tree of five children, 30 grandchildren, and 45 great grandchildren.
South Australian Register Saturday 01 January 1876 page 6
Our obituary column contains a notice of the death of Mr. Benjamin Wickham, who died on Wednesday, December 22, after a lingering illness. Mr. Wickham was one of our oldest colonists, having arrived in South Australia in 1838, by the ship Africaine. During the first four years of his residence in the colony he resided at Cowandilla. He then removed to Wickham's Hill, near Kangarilla, where he has lived ever since. As an old soldier in the 40th Foot, he was engaged in the battles of Salamanca, Badajas Culdad, Rodrigo, and Al-buera, and always wore a medal of service, granted in 1848, on which the names of these engagements are inscribed. He was also engaged in the battle of Vittoria, at which he was wounded, and was consequently obliged to leave the. In one engagement all the men except 11 in his division were either killed or wounded, and he was chosen as orderly to the Duke of Wellington out of those remaining unhurt. Mr. Wickham leaves a widow, five children, 31 grandchildren, and 45 great-grandchildren.
The Express and Telegraph Monday 27 December 1875 page 3
WICKHAM, Tabitha nee PRANGLEY Died 02 August 1845 in Adelaide, SA Born 20 May 1790 at Leigh's Green, Corsley, Wiltshire, England Daughter of John and Sarah PRANGLEY The records for the "Africaine" only list two of Benjamin & Tabitha WICKHAM's children, Eliza and Daniel. Tabitha is not actually listed on the passenger list of the "Africaine". Neither are their daughters Sarah Clifford (married William Joseph SAYERS in Tasmania in 1836), Maria or young Lucy mentioned. As well, Tabitha's illegitimate daughter Mary BAILEY (nee PRANGLEY) was already in Tasmania (1833-1838) and two of her children were born there before she came to South Australia. It seems very likely that Tabitha and her daughters Maria and Lucy first went to Tasmania. The first Wesleyan Methodist service on the mainland of South Australia was held in a tent near the Old Gum Tree at Glenelg South Australia on 22 Jan 1837. It was conducted by John C. White. On 11 May 1837, fifteen people met at the home of Edward Stephens near the site of the present Festival Theatre in Adelaide and decided to establisha Wesleyan Methodist Society. Tabitha Wickham was one of those present. Tabitha was also the first nurse in South Australia. Early in 1837, an infirmary was set up on North Terrace near Morphett St. Tabitha undertook to care for the inmates, and to cook, for ten shillings a week plus rations. Later she was the first nurse at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. Died 2nd August 1845 after a short illness at Gouger Street, Adelaide. In her 55th year. She lived much respected, and died deeply lamented by all who knew her. Buried West Terrace Cemetery Plan Z Path 1 Site 9
WICKHAM, Eliza Died 04 June 1901 in Kew, Vic. Born 04 November 1824 at Corsley, Wiltshire, England Married James REARDON 27 October 1840 at Trinity Church, Adelaide, SA Married John BROPHY c1862 in Vic. Married George Keane JOHNSTON c1865 Died 04 June 1901 in Kew, Vic. The will of the late Mrs Eliza Johnston, formerly of Merry Creek, has been lodged for probate The testatrix left real estate valued at £12,300, and personalty valued at £350, to her children and other relatives.
WICKHAM, Maria Died 17 February 1872 at Edwardstown, SA Born 18 July 1920 at Corsley, Wiltshire, England Married William WILLIAMS 12 August 1839 at Holy Trinity Church, Adelaide, SA Died 17 February 1872 at Edwardstown, SA - her husband arrived in the ship 'Cygent' in 1836 Aged 52 years
WICKHAM, Daniel Died 10 October 1911 at Unley Park, SA
The death of Mr. Daniel Wickham, in his 85th year, has removed another of the pioneers of settlement in South Australia, and a gentleman who was widely known and respected in this district. It is 75 years since Mr. Wickham arrived with his parents at Holdfast Bay in the ship Africaine. After some years' residence at Adelaide and the Reedbeds the deceased's father (Mr. Benjamin Wickham) removed with his family to the McLaren Vale district, where he engaged in sheep farming. Mr. Benjamin Wickham attained the remarkable age of 104 years, and died in 1875, when his son carried on the sheep run. Mr. Daniel Wickham heard Governor Hindmarsh read the proclamation, of the province at Glenelg, and was acquainted with Colonel Light and John McDouall Stuart. He had also had the singular experience of having shaken hands with every Governor of South Australia from Captain Hindmarsh down to Sir Day Bosanquet, whom he met at Glenelg last December. He left a widow and family of nine children, and there are a large number of grandchildren. Chronicle Saturday 21 October 1911 page 46
WICKHAM, Lucy Died 26 November 1879 at Sandhurst, Vic. Born 02 January 1830 at Bristol, Gloucestershire, England Married George Francis WILLOWS 06 May 1847 in Holy Trinity Church of England, Adelaide, SA Died 26 November 1879
On the 26th November, at her residence, Hargreaves-street, Sandhurst, Lucy, the wife of Mr. George Francis Willows, and youngest daughter of the late Mr. Benjamin Wickham, of Wickham Park, Adelaide, South Australia, aged 49 years; deeply regretted.
Bendigo Advertiser Thursday 27 November 1879 page 2
WINDEBANK, James Died 20th July 1888 at Hamilton, Aged 71 years
Arrived aged 22 years Buried Hamilton St. Matthews Anglican Cemetery
Mr. James Windebank, one of the pioneer settlers in South Australia, has passed away. Mr. Windebank arrived in the Africaine, and almost immediately settled down in the neighbourhood of where Hamilton now exists. He has resided there for fifty-one years. The deceased, an old English county player, naturally took a strong interest in cricket, and for years he was the life of the Hamilton Club.
Evening Journal Monday 23 July 1888 page 2
YOUNG, Alfred Arrived aged 15 years as servant to Robert Gouger "We originally supplied ourselves with five servants (male and female) before leaving England, but of these Alfred Young is the only one who preserves his loyalty, though assailed by evil advisers. 1 have, however, I been fortunate in securing the services of Colsman and wife till the site of the chief town is fixed upon."